Analysis: a signing that answers the timing problem, not the earnings one

The half year statement and the storage signing describe the same tension from opposite ends. Profit fell over the half, and the company attributes the movement to the timing of development, divestment and financial close activities, with financial closes and project agreement signings now expected six to twelve months later than planned. Two weeks later it signed three agreements covering 6,000 MWh. The signing does not reverse a first half already reported, and Storage Services Agreements are not financial closes. What it does establish is that the pipeline is converting into contracts in the home market, which is the specific thing the first half lacked.

The scale deserves care. 6,000 MWh against a portfolio that held 5.6 GWh of battery storage at the end of 2025 means these three plants roughly match everything the group had built or contracted in storage to that point. Set against 98.2 GW of power capacity, storage remains a small line. It is the growth rate rather than the absolute number that is unusual, and the group added only 0.8 GWh of storage to the operating portfolio during the whole first half.

Two things the announcement does not settle are worth naming. It does not state the ownership structure of the three project companies, so the equity share the group will hold in each plant is not established by these disclosures. It also does not state the tariff, the capital cost or the financing plan, and a Storage Services Agreement signed in August is a long way from a financed and constructed plant. The company’s own first half commentary, that closes are running six to twelve months later than planned, is the reason to treat the signing date and the financial close date as separate events.

The repeatability point is the one a careful reader would track next. If the buyer repeats the standalone storage pricing in later tranches, those tranches would follow the same contracting template, and these three agreements would already be signed when that happens. That is a claim about market structure, and the evidence for or against it will be the next procurement round rather than the next set of accounts.

What the documents say

ACWA Power (Tadawul: 2082) has signed three Storage Services Agreements with the Saudi Power Procurement Company covering battery energy storage plants at Haden, Muwayh and AlKahfah, in total 6,000 MWh of capacity. The agreements were signed at a ceremony at the Ministry of Energy in Riyadh on 20 August 2026, in the presence of HRH Prince Abdulaziz bin Salman bin Abdulaziz, Minister of Energy.

What was signed

Each of the three plants is rated at 500 MW with 2,000 MWh of storage capacity, and each will supply power under a 15-year agreement. At full output each facility provides four hours of storage. Haden and Muwayh sit in the western region of the Kingdom, AlKahfah in the north. The company describes the procurement as one of the largest for battery energy storage globally.

The tender was run by the Saudi Power Procurement Company, which the Ministry of Energy oversees as the Kingdom’s principal buyer of electricity. Omar Al Hassan, chief executive for Saudi Arabia at the company, framed the plants as part of the power system rather than an addition to it: “These plants will hold energy generated through the day and release it when demand reaches its peak.”

The contracting structure is the detail that separates this from a generation award. A Storage Services Agreement pays for storage as a service in its own right rather than bundling batteries into a solar or wind tariff. The company notes that pricing storage this way gives the buyer a route it can repeat for later tranches.

Where storage already sits in the portfolio

Battery storage has been embedded in the company’s project designs for several years. At Tashkent Riverside in Uzbekistan, 770 MWh of batteries is paired with 200 MW of solar. The Red Sea Project on the Saudi coast runs on 1,227 MWh and supplies a development with no grid connection at all. As of December 31, 2025 the group reported 5.6 GWh of battery energy storage in its portfolio, alongside 93.0 GW of gross power capacity, 9.2 million cubic metres per day of desalination and 223 Ktons per annum of green hydrogen.

Inside Saudi Arabia the company holds 41 assets spanning solar, wind, gas, desalination and green hydrogen, and it says it is mandated by the Public Investment Fund to develop around 70 percent of the Kingdom’s renewables pipeline. Group wide, the 2025 annual report records 108 projects operational, under construction or in advanced development, assets under management of SAR 437.5 billion equivalent to USD 116.6 billion, more than 4,600 employees and operations across 15 countries. The company was established in 2004 and is headquartered in Riyadh.

The half year the agreements arrive into

Results for the first half ended June 30 were published on August 6. Net profit was SAR 653 million against SAR 909 million a year earlier, and operating income before impairment loss and other expenses was SAR 1,444 million against SAR 2,207 million. The company attributes the movement to the timing of certain developments, divestment and financial close activities, several of which it expects to progress in the second half. The chief financial officer said several development milestones including financial closes and project agreement signings are now expected to be delayed by six to twelve months.

Operationally the half was steadier. The portfolio reached 111 assets across operations, construction and advanced development, comprising 98.2 GW of power generation capacity and 9.7 million cubic metres per day of desalination across 16 countries, with 5.2 GW of power and 0.6 million cubic metres per day added to the development pipeline. Assets under management rose by approximately SAR 30 billion to around SAR 475 billion. Power asset availability was above 92% and water availability above 98%. Three projects reached commercial operation, adding 0.8 GWh of battery storage capacity and 0.9 million cubic metres per day of desalination. Construction spanned 32 projects representing approximately 47 GW and 2 million cubic metres per day.

The disclosure obligation behind the announcement

An issuer on the Saudi market discloses events like this under Part 5 of the Rules on the Offer of Securities and Continuing Obligations. Article 64 requires disclosure to the Authority and the public without delay of any material development in the issuer’s sphere of activity that is not public knowledge and that may affect its assets and liabilities, financial position or the general course of business, and that may reasonably lead to movements in the price of its listed securities. The test the rules set is whether a prudent investor would be likely to consider the information in making investment decisions.

Article 65 adds a list of events requiring immediate disclosure regardless of whether they qualify as material, including any transaction to purchase, sell, lease or mortgage an asset at a price equal to or greater than 10% of the issuer’s net assets, and any significant change in the issuer’s production environment or activity. A long-term services agreement of this kind sits under the general material development test in Article 64 rather than a specific trigger in Article 65, which is why the announcement gives capacity and duration but no monetary value.