Analysis: an acting chief executive following an interim one, and a coupon announced as an event
The governance detail that carries the most information is the word “acting” following the word “interim”. A company that replaces an interim chief executive with an acting chief executive, and states that both arrangements run pending the appointment of a substantive chief executive, has been without settled executive leadership for the length of two temporary terms. The appointment is also conditional on approval by the electricity regulator, which means the person signing for the company at the operational level holds the office subject to a decision that had not been made when the notice was filed.
The bond disclosure should be read the same way. Issuers do not normally file a market notice to say that a scheduled coupon was paid. Trustees receive payment, bondholders receive distribution, and the event appears in the annual report. This notice followed the company’s own response of 12 August to online publications about its bond repayment obligation. Its value to a bondholder lies in what it states and what it does not. It states that funds for the eighth coupon and a part principal repayment reached the trustees. It does not give the contractual payment date, the amount paid, or any terms attaching to the payment that follows it.
Nothing in the three filings quantifies the legacy matters. The company has described a comprehensive review of its transactions, liabilities, financing arrangements and corporate documentation without publishing a single figure from it, and has said discussions with advisers are ongoing. Until that review produces numbers, the public record on those matters consists of the commitments in the two notices rather than quantified amounts.
The listing record sets the scale against which those unquantified items would be read. NGX admitted Geregu to its Main Board by introduction on 5 October 2022, listing 2.5 billion ordinary shares at N100 per share in the Utilities sector and Electric Power Generation sub-sector, adding N250,000,000,000 to market capitalisation, and the exchange described it at the time as the first generation company to list on the Main Board. A company holding that position is also the sector’s reference issuer for any other generation company considering the bond market.
Issuers on the exchange file under the Rules for Filing of Accounts and Treatment of Default Filing in the Issuers’ Rules, under which audited annual accounts are due within 90 calendar days of the year end and NGX Regulation Limited issues a Deficiency Filing Notice under Rule 2.2.1 where a company misses the date. Those accounts, and the notes on borrowings and on events after the reporting period, are where the size and status of the legacy matters will have to appear. The next scheduled coupon date, and whether it passes without a market notice, is the other thing to watch.
What the documents say
Geregu Power Plc (NGX: GEREGU) confirmed to the Nigerian Exchange on 20 August 2026 that the eighth coupon and part principal repayment due under its ₦40,085,000,000 Series 1 Fixed Rate Bond had been paid to the trustees. The bond was issued under the company’s bond issuance programme. A confirmation that a scheduled coupon has been paid is not usually news. This one is, because of the two filings that preceded it in the same eight days and because of the wording it uses.
The coupon notice and what it states
The board’s disclosure states that the payment has been made, reaffirms its commitment to preserving shareholder value and corporate governance standards, and says the company will continue to engage constructively with relevant parties to resolve legacy matters pre-dating the current board, confirming that the process will not impact the company’s ability to meet its obligations. It closes by thanking bondholders, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Nigerian Exchange and the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission for their continued engagement and understanding while the matter was being resolved. The notice is signed for the company by the company secretary and states that it is made in compliance with the rules of the Nigerian Exchange.
Three phrases in that paragraph carry the disclosure. “Legacy matters pre-dating the current board” states that unresolved items exist and dates them before the current board. “While this matter was being resolved” places the coupon inside a matter the company describes as resolved. The notice also records the thanks of the company to the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Nigerian Exchange and the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission for their continued engagement.
The notice does not state the coupon rate, the payment frequency, the amount paid, the size of the part principal repayment, the outstanding principal after payment, the maturity date, or the identity of the trustees. A reader cannot date the issue from the coupon count, because the payment interval is not disclosed.
The publication the company answered
Eight days earlier, on 12 August 2026, Geregu had filed a response to online publications raising concerns about its bond repayment obligations. That statement gave no amount and no due date for any payment. It said the company remains fully committed to generating power for its consumers, and that since assuming responsibility for the company’s affairs, the current board and management had undertaken a comprehensive review and reconciliation of transactions, liabilities, operational commitments, financing arrangements, financial obligations and related corporate documentation. It acknowledged the concerns of shareholders and regulators, said the company was actively engaged with advisers on resolving what it called the various challenges, and committed to an orderly and mutually beneficial outcome. It gave no timeline and no figures.
Read against the 20 August confirmation, the sequence runs as follows: online publications raised concerns about the bond repayment obligation, the company said it was reconciling its obligations, and it then confirmed that the payment had reached the trustees.
A third change in the same window
On 17 August 2026 the board notified the exchange that Engr. Mohammed Sani Jaoji had been appointed acting chief executive officer with effect from that date, subject to the approval of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission. The appointment followed the non-renewal of the term of interim chief executive Mr. Sean Manley, which ended on 14 August 2026.
Jaoji holds a Bachelor of Engineering degree in mechanical engineering from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, and is a registered member of the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria. The notification credits him with over three decades in the power sector, including roles at the National Electric Power Authority and at Geregu, where he was head of maintenance planning and performance between 2007 and 2019, followed by a period as technical assistant to the minister of power between 2019 and 2023 before returning to the company. The board said the appointment will strengthen the governance structure and strategic direction of the company pending the appointment of a substantive chief executive.